Who we areProducts and servicesCareerPress roomBecome a memberContact

Coming out of an economic crisis that lasted more than ten years in the late 30's, milk farmers of the area of Saint-Guillaume, Québec, wanted to control the sales of their product to maximize their benefits. That's when approximately 50 milk farmers decided to form a cooperative society named "La Société Coopérative Agricole de Beurrerie de Saint-Guillaume".

Without wasting any time, these shareholders built a brand new butter and cheese factory that began production in 1940. During the following years, the coop of Saint-Guillaume, now known as La Coop Agrilait, has developed for its members numerous agricultural services such as distribution of mineral fertilizers, crop seeds, pesticides and livestock feed.

La Coop Agrilait also has a hardware and convenience store with a Sonic gas station. The cheese factory transforms approximately 22 million liters of milk per year into Cheddar, Brick, Monterey Jack, Swiss and "Tortillon" salted cheese.

This endeavor represents thirty million dollars in annual sales with a staff of over ninety employees.

List of all the former presidents
of La Coop Agrilait

1939-1943: Donat Côté
1943-1945: Adélard Cartier
1945-1946: Noël Lanoie
1946-1948: Elphège Vanasse
1948-1953: Hector Doyon
1953-1962: Omer Hébert
1962-1964: Henri Gervais
1964-1966: Wilfrid Paulhus
1966-1971: Jean-paul Lanoie
1971-1972: Guy Lacharité
1976-1977: Rolland Tessier
1977-1978: Marcel Fontaine
1978-1980: Florian Lavallée
1980-1985: Robert Villeneuve
1985-1992: Bernard Morel
1992-1996: Benoît Picard
1996-2001: Rudolf Binggeli
2001-2015: Ghislain Gervais
2015-2019: Yvon Cyr

The current president

Antoine Grisé